Zero-Sum Game

Matang Dave
2 min readSep 4, 2022

--

I used to operate with a zero-sum mindset in my job. Zero-sum mindset people believe that for every winner there has to be a loser. They see their teammates as threats or competitors.

Zero-sum game (image credits: www.tlnt.com)

My zero-sum game mindset was an obstacle to my career progression. I felt insecure around strong peers. I felt that I have to compete with them to not be the loser. It took me some while to realise that the business environment is not “winner takes all”. For e.g. Tesla has re-invented the electric car industry. Yet that does not mean other car companies are losers. Tesla’s win has helped other car manufacturers increase their revenue. Tesla has opened up a new revenue stream for other car manufacturers.

If I retrospect, the zero-sum mindset is rooted in my childhood.

In school, all the trophies and medals were reserved for the toppers. All other classmates left to feel like looser. I limit myself from sharing knowledge and learning with my classmates for the fear of losing. Sports also contributed to my understanding. I used to play cricket with my friends at home. In cricket, there are 11 players in a team. To be part of the team, I have to perform better compared to all teammates disregarding my individual level of performance.

As a leader, it is crucial that my team knows that they are not playing a zero-sum game. If we win together, there will be enough for all of us to share and cherish.

--

--